DEC 2013

EyeWorld is the official news magazine of the American Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery.

Issue link: https://digital.eyeworld.org/i/227001

Contents of this Issue


Page 8 of 74

6 EW NEWS & OPINION December 2013 C O R NEA M E E T I NG RE P O RT E R I N O T H ER N EW S Postoperative management of corneal crosslinking patients 34 Reporting live from the 2013 American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting in New Orleans 52 William Fishkind, MD, takes off Awareness of the potential side effects and complications, a strong focus on reestablishing ocular surface health, and patient counseling before and after surgery are key by Frederik Raiskup, MD, PhD, FEBO 69 Piloting toward multi-dimensional success by Maxine Lipner 48 Views from Asia-Pacific: Femto for cataract surgery 48 Cesar Ramon G. Espiritu, MD, Philippines, and Sri Ganesh, MD, India, share their thoughts on the technology 52 34 IN T E R N ATION A L 69 Reporting live from the 9th International Symposium of Ophthalmology (ISO) in Guangzhou, China 62 International outlook Postmortem, an ophthalmology giant lives 46 David J Apple Laboratory continues to investigate IOL pathology in a new form by Matt Young S P EC I A L F EAT U R ES JCRS update 11 ASCRS update 11 Monthly Pulse 42 50 RETINA D EPA R M EN T Reeling in first success with synthetic rod transplantation 50 Classifieds 67 Casting for new ways to cure blindness by Maxine Lipner Calendar 68 Index to advertisers 69 62 46 EYEWORLD EDITORS Chief medical editor: David F. Chang, MD Cataract editor: Bonnie An Henderson, MD Cornea editor: Clara C. Chan, MD Refractive editor: Kerry D. Solomon, MD Glaucoma editor: Reay H. Brown, MD EYEWORLD EDITORIAL  BOARD CATARACT Lisa B. Arbisser, MD Preston H. Blomquist, MD Susan MacDonald, MD Saras Ramanathan, MD Steve G. Safran, MD Richard Tipperman, MD Mitchell P. Weikert, MD REFRACTIVE GLAUCOMA John P. Berdahl, MD Kraig S. Bower, MD Y. Ralph Chu, MD Neel Desai, MD Elizabeth M. Hofmeister, MD Louis E. Probst, MD Garry P. Condon, MD Steven J. Gedde, MD Jeffery A. Kammer, MD Parag Parekh, MD Nathan M. Radcliffe, MD CORNEA Bennie Jeng, MD Barry Lee, MD Vincent P. de Luise, MD John A. Hovanesian, MD International editor: John A. Vukich, MD ASCRS EXECUTIVE  COMMITTEE Brock K. Bakewell, MD Chair, Government Relations Committee Amar Agarwal, FRCS Renato Ambrósio, MD Graham D. Barrett, FRACO Ashley Behrens, MD William De La Pena, MD Bruno M. Fontes, MD Nada S. Jabbur, MD Shigeru Kinoshita, MD Boris E. Malyugin, MD Dan Z. Reinstein, MD Prin Rojanapongpun, MD Hungwon Tchah, MD Vladimir N. Trubilin, MD Ke Yao, MD Ronald Yeoh, MD ASCRS  GOVERNING BOARD Eric D. Donnenfeld, MD, President INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY GROUP Richard A. Lewis, MD, Vice President/President Elect David F. Chang, MD, Immediate Past President Edward J. Holland, MD, Past President Robert J. Cionni, MD, Treasurer Kerry D. Solomon, MD, Secretary John D. Banja, PhD ASCRS Public Trustee Rosa M. Braga-Mele, MD Chair, Cataract Clinical Committee David F. Chang, MD Medical Editor, EyeWorld Stephen S. Lane, MD Chair, Optometric Task Force Warren E. Hill, MD Member at Large Richard L. Lindstrom, MD Chair, ASCRS Foundation Edward J. Holland, MD Chair, Program Committee Nick Mamalis, MD Editor, JCRS Terry Kim, MD Chair, Cornea Clinical Committee Thomas W. Samuelson, MD Chair, Glaucoma Clinical Committee Roger F. Steinert, MD Chair, CME Industry Liaison Committee Doyle Stulting, MD, PhD Stephen A. Obstbaum, MD Chair, Refractive Surgery Chair, ASCRS Past Presidents Clinical Committee Committee Elizabeth Yeu, MD Chair, Young Physicians and Residents Clinical Committee

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Eyeworld - DEC 2013