JUL 2013

EyeWorld is the official news magazine of the American Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery.

Issue link: https://digital.eyeworld.org/i/146899

Contents of this Issue


Page 8 of 66

EW Table of Contents 6 Cornea editorÕs corner of the world Taking the reins 28 Dr. Chan takes over for Edward Holland, MD, as cornea editor of EyeWorld by Clara C. Chan, MD, FRCSC, FACS July 2013 REFRACTIV E Customized presbyopia solutions from the lightadjustable lens 46 APX: Novel device for pupil expansion 49 Ehud I. Assia, MD, describes a new instrument he has developed to manage small pupils by Ehud I. Assia, MD Arturo Chayet, MD 54 G L AU CO M A RE S ID E NT S I N O TH ER N EW S Anterior segment grand rounds A bleb too far 30 Cataract tips from the teachers Go with the flow 51 Ophthalmologist and researcher turned novelist 61 Experts share tips for teaching "phaco fluidics" to residents by Bob Avery, MD, Uday Devgan, MD, and Donna Siracuse-Lee, MD Dr. Safran presents the case of a woman who had perfectly functioning glaucoma filtering surgery in terms of IOP but was unhappy because of her very diffuse bleb by Steven G. Safran, MD Award-winning books focus on international historical adventures by Vanessa Caceres 46 INTERNATI ON AL International outlook ALT, SLT É PLT 48 New trabeculoplasty procedure offers an alternative to SLT by Matt Young 30 EyeWorld journal club Review of ÒManagement and outcomes of intraocular lens dislocation in patients with pseudoexfoliationÓ 52 by Matthew B. Kaufman, MD, Jessica J. Kovarik, MD, Anna G. Gushchin, MD, Carlos A. Medina, MD, Angela R. Elam, MD, Peter M. Brennen, MD, UPMC Eye Center, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine 61 M E E TI NG RE PO RTE R Can SLT be safely and effectively repeated when its initial effect wears off? by Tony Realini, MD S P EC I A L F E AT U R E S ARVO 2013: AREDS, IVAN, and more 54 Repeatability of selective laser trabeculoplasty 32 JCRS update 9 ASCRS update 9 Monthly Pulse Survey 44 Reporting from the 2013 Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology meeting in Seattle D E PA RT M EN T S Classifieds 59 Calendar 60 Index to Advertisers 61 49 EYEWORLD EDITORS Chief medical editor: David F. Chang, MD Cataract editor: Bonnie An Henderson, MD Cornea editor: Clara C. Chan, MD Refractive editor: Kerry D. Solomon, MD Glaucoma editor: Reay H. Brown, MD EYEWORLD EDITORIAL  BOARD CATARACT Lisa B. Arbisser, MD Preston H. Blomquist, MD Susan MacDonald, MD Saras Ramanathan, MD Steve G. Safran, MD Richard Tipperman, MD Mitchell P. Weikert, MD REFRACTIVE GLAUCOMA John P. Berdahl, MD Kraig S. Bower, MD Y. Ralph Chu, MD Neel Desai, MD Elizabeth M. Hofmeister, MD Louis E. Probst, MD Garry P. Condon, MD Steven J. Gedde, MD Jeffery A. Kammer, MD Nathan M. Radcliffe, MD Carla J. Siegfried, MD CORNEA Bennie Jeng, MD Barry Lee, MD Vincent P. de Luise, MD John A. Hovanesian, MD International editor: John A. Vukich, MD ASCRS EXECUTIVE  COMMITTEE Brock K. Bakewell, MD Chair, Government Relations Committee Amar Agarwal, FRCS Renato Ambrósio, MD Graham D. Barrett, FRACO Ashley Behrens, MD William De La Pena, MD Bruno M. Fontes, MD Nada S. Jabbur, MD Shigeru Kinoshita, MD Boris E. Malyugin, MD Dan Z. Reinstein, MD Prin Rojanapongpun, MD Hungwon Tchah, MD Vladimir N. Trubilin, MD Ke Yao, MD Ronald Yeoh, MD ASCRS  GOVERNING BOARD Eric D. Donnenfeld, MD, President INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY GROUP Richard A. Lewis, MD, Vice President/President Elect David F. Chang, MD, Immediate Past President Edward J. Holland, MD, Past President Robert J. Cionni, MD, Treasurer Kerry D. Solomon, MD, Secretary John D. Banja, PhD ASCRS Public Trustee Rosa M. Braga-Mele, MD Chair, Cataract Clinical Committee David F. Chang, MD Medical Editor, EyeWorld Stephen S. Lane, MD Chair, Optometric Task Force Warren E. Hill, MD Member at Large Richard L. Lindstrom, MD Chair, ASCRS Foundation Edward J. Holland, MD Chair, Program Committee Nick Mamalis, MD Editor, JCRS Terry Kim, MD Chair, Cornea Clinical Committee Thomas W. Samuelson, MD Chair, Glaucoma Clinical Committee Roger F. Steinert, MD Chair, CME Industry Liaison Committee Doyle Stulting, MD, PhD Stephen A. Obstbaum, MD Chair, Refractive Surgery Chair, ASCRS Past Presidents Clinical Committee Committee Elizabeth Yeu, MD Chair, Young Physicians and Residents Clinical Committee

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Eyeworld - JUL 2013